Key Areas of Interest

The seven critical areas that are measured have been identified by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) and make up the criteria for Performance Excellence as used in the Baldridge National Quality Program. NIST has a mission to develop and promote measurement, standards, and technology to enhance productivity, facilitate trade, and improve the quality of life. These criteria are:


1. Leadership

2. Customer Focus

3. Human Resource Development & Management

4. Strategic Planning

5. Information & Analysis

6. Process Management

7. Business Results